Take a break



Life is for living in my very humble opinion. Over the past three weeks I have spent in Milan, Italy – I have never known the benefits of a recharge. Any time I have ever taken a break, or a holiday, I bury myself in a project or organised a voyage of a lifetime.20160318_135548

Walking as a means of transport, has been a pleasure. The wonders it does for your fitness, posture and general health are a saving grace to save me from the delicious beige food I have consumed. As would you with pizza, pasta and bread so delicious and on every corner.

Getting lost in a city with a drastically low incidence of petty crime is a wonder. The freedom, beauty and space to roam the city is such a calming experience.



Not to put Milan on a pedestal, with the cleanliness, culture and rich history there is also a lack of conformity. few people want or choose to speak English, which can make for a tough few first weeks before I was taken pity on by my lovely landlady Gabriella. Teaching me English from grammar upwards to vocabulary, she is heaven-sent.

The fact I have not posted in some time is due to the fact I had to get myself a job to survive in this beautiful city of beauticians, salons, high-streets, beautiful leather shoes, bags and independent retailers. as well as bars, clubs and cafes. Teaching English was a wonderful experience and has given me additional tools for life. I have honed my interpersonal skills, communication technique, teaching skills and have made a positive impact on the lives of a few amazing Italians along the way to improve their English, confidence and prospects in the future.

It’s not goodbye just yet, but on my rare day off, I thought a little tribute to this gift of time was due. Thank you Milan.



Leave a Reply

